Rohit to steer India in Asia Cup as Kohli is rested

NEW DELHI: India’s selectors on Saturday rested prolific skipper Virat Kohli for the upcoming Asia Cup one-day cricket match throughout the UAE the place arch-rivals Pakistan are moreover competing.

Batsman Rohit Sharma will lead the 16-member squad in Kohli’s absence by the regional six-team rivals to be held from Sept 15 to 28.

“Considering the workload, we now have given him [Kohli] rest,” chairman of selectors M.S.Okay. Prasad suggested reporters in Mumbai. “He has been collaborating in continuously for pretty some time. He’s on the freeway as a result of the IPL (Indian Premier League)… we have now to guard a couple of of the treasured players, who’re collaborating in in all three codecs.”

Kohli, 29, is in the meanwhile fundamental the Indian aspect in a five-Test sequence in England the place he has scored 486 runs so far along with two centuries.

The England sequence ends on Sept 11, four days sooner than the start of the Asia Cup.

And in decrease than per week after the Asia Cup final, India is able to play in direction of the West Indies in a home Test sequence.

Sooner than the England sequence, Kohli was pressured to miss out on a stint with Surrey ensuing from a neck harm and throughout the Lord’s Test he suffered a lower-back stress.

The selectors moreover picked 20-year-old uncapped left-arm seamer Khaleel Ahmed who has impressed throughout the shorter codecs of the game.

Middle-order batsmen Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey and Kedar Jadhav have been launched once more after missing India’s ODI sequence in direction of England.

Pacemen Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been moreover included with the duo having recovered from their accidents.

Amongst people who missed out have been batsman Suresh Raina and bowler Umesh Yadav.

Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan are the alternative teams throughout the fray throughout the 50-over contest. The sixth workers shall be decided by a qualifier being held in Malaysia.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Okay.L. Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah.

You might also like